top of page

Beet Harvesting

Someone recently shared this with me and I thought I would share this on my website:

Here is another interesting fact for Emma's research to pass to her. When we were kids in the 60's we worked in the beet fields for the Yeagers.

Some kids would work at the GW Experiment Station bagging and "rogueing" beet seeds. You had to sit in the fields pulling out the beets that were not supposed to be there, put paper bags over the others to gather the pollen to pollinate the beets to get the right seeds. It was very hot and hard work. I seriously think there are very few kids today who would do that!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page